Debt Free

Dear Mr. Ramsey,

I’m debt free.  Good-bye student loan!!!!

Love,

Emily

So I don’t 100% agree with everything Dave Ramsey says and sometimes I have a hard time with the “end goal” of accumulating wealth (even though giving is also emphasized.)  What I do agree with and am excited about is not being tied to payments or interest.  As someone who didn’t have a background in finance, I’m really glad I took his Financial Peace University course right out of college.  Of course, I don’t think I would have known about this opportunity to learn about making wise choices/stewardship if I wouldn’t have had such great models of what it looks like growing up.  In high school, my parents took the FPU course and phrases like, “It’s not in the budget” became common place.  Even before that, living within your means, being a good steward, giving, saving, and making longterm plans (that are subject to change) were always present.

I think it’s also important to state the following: It is possible to have financial stability without real freedom or real peace.  Financial stability, while good, is not ultimate.  What is ultimate?  What is the source or real freedom and real peace?  The Giver of every good and perfect gift.

My hope is not built on Wall Street or finances.  So while I can be excited and thankful for my last payment to AES, I can also have confidence regardless of circumstances.  Just like we sang this Sunday,

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Debt Free

  1. capesmama says:

    congrats Emily! that is huge!
    Bekah

Leave a Reply

